Company Profiles: Greg Anderson

This is the tenth in a series of posts profiling our performers — get to know the Synetic family of actors.

Today’s profile covers someone new to Synetic: Greg Anderson. As a deaf performer, Greg was accepted into Synetic’s Company Training in the summer of 2009. Othello will be his first experience onstage with Synetic, and the show will run as a part of the 2010 International VSA Festival at the Kennedy Center in the month of June. We decided to interview him on his experiences!

1. Where are you from? What is your training?
I am the native of South Carolina, and I currently live in Columbia, MD. I got training in acting from Deaf West in Los Angeles.

2. What was it like to start working with Synetic? How was it different from your other experiences?

Crazy!! Just crazy! But it is a good crazy. At the beginning of rehearsal weeks, I was completely awkward and did not know what to expect of the Othello show. I was highly challenged and it was hard work. There are a lot of great actors in the show; I enjoy the whole experience.

This experience is very different because this show depends on the music, or should I say the music depends on the show. So I had to work harder to hear some cues from the music to go from A to B. Fortunately, when I was 7 years old I got good training on understanding the music’s rhythms and sounds from one of instructors, plus I have some hearing in my left ear.

3. What is unique about working with Synetic as a deaf actor? What have been the challenges? The rewards?

This isn’t the first time I’ve worked with hearing casts. Every experience is different, and this I can say that this is first show I’ve gone without an official script. The challenges I have were/are understanding the directions/instructions from people like Irina, Paata, and Ben as much as I can and trying to keep up with what’s going on during rehearsals. The rewards: new experience, getting my movements right, and being part of Synetic Theater.

4. Any crazy stories from rehearsals, performance, etc.?

It was a rainy night in the Fall last year that I will NEVER forget, because it was the very first gig that I HAD to miss. During the rush hour, I was driving on my way to Kennedy Center to do a performance for a charity event. As I was entering DC, there was some trouble with my car. I pulled over, and it died on me. At first, I thought it was a car battery, so I called Triple A. They came, charged it up, and left. As soon as my car was okay, I started driving out of parellel parking and passed one parked car, my car died on me again. I knew I had to be at Kennedy Center very soon. So I called Triple A again and had the battery replaced. My car worked again, so I drove, and a few miles away from Kennedy Center my car started dying on me again, and it really died on me, and I was right in the middle of a congested road. I had to push my car to the side, so I could let cars pass by. I had to text my director to tell her that I had to miss the performance. She begged me to come, and I couldn’t. It was impossible leaving my car parking illegally and whatnot. It was the first show I had to miss. It was miserably cold rainy night I will never forget ever.

~ by synetictheater on May 26, 2010.

Leave a comment